Photos from National Poetry Month contest reading

Roberta Hung listens to the winners of the Naomi Cherkofsky Memorial Contest .

Roberta Hung listens to the winners of the Naomi Cherkofsky Memorial Contest .

There isn’t a harder working intellectual mind full of curiosity and brilliance than Roberta Hung. Unfortunately, Roberta has been busy painting and

Ellie is such a brave and beautiful soul reading from her notebook of thoughts and poems.

Ellie is such a brave and beautiful soul reading from her notebook of thoughts and poems.

participating in an online course regarding ancient Greek history and did not have any new poems to share that wonderfully sunny Saturday we celebrated National Poetry Month by honoring the winners of the Naomi Cherkofsky Memorial Contest and participating in the annual open mic event.

(Roberta, if you happen to read this please post the information about your class and the artistic group in the comments section! )

You can read all about who the winners were in Cathryn’s earlier post. But I was just going through a ton of photos and came across these from our reading.

Richard Samuel Davis received an honorable mention for his poem “Waiting for Deer at the Island Refuge”

Richard Samuel Davis received an honorable mention for his poem “Waiting for Deer at the Island Refuge”

(You know how it goes, you take the photos and you love the representation of the

The illustrious leader of the Massachusetts Poetry Society Jeanette Maes.

The illustrious leader of the Massachusetts Poetry Society Jeanette Maes.

 

moment but you never seem to get the pictures developed. It’s as true today in the digital worlds as it was in the days of film. Tell me you don’t have at least a few rolls of film kicking around in a drawer somewhere that you have no idea what’s on it!)

I do so wish that I had been better about posting sooner, so I could give a recount of the wonderful words that were shared. I am sure that I took notes, buried now in my notebook, highlighting some turn of phrase that I loved. I promise that when I do come upon those notes, I’ll leave a comment on this post with them!

At any rate, here are a few of the other photos I took that day (don’t worry Joan, I didn’t take any of you!) and where I think I have the correct identification I’ll make a notation.

One Response

  1. Poetry on Canvas II is the second collaboration between MSPS and Peabody Art Assn. MSPS members submitted poems to which PAA artists could be inspired to do a painting. The exhibit will run this summer at the Osborne-Salata Gallery, 33 Washington St., Peabody. Reception is June 30. It is free and open to the public. Please come.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 310 other followers

